Runner girl’s get down.

So it’s been a few years since I’ve done yoga. My younger self never really liked it because I was always comparing myself to the super flexible yogis in the room, and this girl can’t touch her toes let alone configure into the king-pigeon pose. But with the help of persistent hamstring issues and a refreshed perspective, I have since grown to find a real purpose for yoga in my running. I am finally practicing the realization that it’s about working with what you‘ve got, what you have on this very day, to breakthrough and evolve yourself (whaddaya mean we’re not all competing here?!).

This past weekend my friend Alex and I took a yoga for runners workshop class, and it. was. awesome. And not just because I got to use my new pink mat. But because when you are this much of a beginner, just laying there is an accomplishment; there’s no other way but up.

Image

Above all I was most impressed by the spiritual words and greater perspective that our teacher shared throughout the class. It was like cheap therapy. I felt like I was back in college lying awake at 3am, chatting about life and the greater perspective of it all with my college roommate. My God were we mature beyond our years. Ha. What I would give to be able to listen to a play-back of some of those late-night conversations. I would certainly die from hilarity.

I leave you with some of my teachers words….

“What we need in this world is to slow down. Only if we slow down can we begin to create the space and capacity that we need to let good things and feelings into our lives. Into our beings. But we must first let go of what we want less of, we must let go of the bad, the ugly, to create the space that we need to let in the good.”

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

