A March marathon, and what is Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL?

So, I’ve determined that I am prone to R.C.H. (Race Commitment High). It’s a completely made-up condition that is brought on by hitting the submit button and officially entering into a race. Symptoms include an immediate sense of gratification, excitement, purpose for training, and renewed inspiration. Really, R.C.H. is quite the condition to have. So when I heard that my friend Taylor signed up for the Napa Valley Marathon (<— I think there’s at least two of us runner girl’s out there with R.C.H., just sayin’) I was quick to follow.

This will be my second marathon, the first was the Nashville country music marathon that I ran with my older brother and two younger sisters back in 2010. Here’s  a couple of pic’s of us at 5am the morning of the race. As you can see we all received the ‘whole lotta limb’ gene:

28231_682003173121_7658357_n

30545_734041482839_2036560_n

I felt great and finished in a 3:21. Beating my little sisters and eating  copious amounts of cupcakes after the race were my goals. Mission, accomplished.

28489_595198261035_6081783_n

After committing to the Napa marathon, I decided it was a good time to find more company for my miserystart a running team for the IRUNLIKEAGIRL active wear brand. And so, Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL was born. If you like to run and EAT, you should come hang out with us.  If you just like to EAT, you should come hang out with us. We have 8 runners training for the Napa marathon in March and a bunch more that come out to run (and EAT) with us! Here’s a quick shot from last week’s 2013 kickoff party right before our run in Golden Gate Park…

photo (83)

So, I’d love to know…

What are you training for? 

Have you ever run a marathon?

When it comes to cupcakes, do you enjoy the cake or the frosting more?

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A March marathon, and what is Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL?

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m training for a couple short races (Hero Rush and the Cooper River Bridge Run) just to get back into the swing of races. I can’t say I have much interest in marathons…half’s yes but definitely don’t have it in me to run full’s. And I am a lover of anything chocolate or peanut butter. So when it comes to cupcakes, my favorite part is the one that involves one or both of those ingredients. 🙂

  2. Briana says:

    Going for marathon #5…. First time running San Francisco….bring it!,,,,,

  3. So glad I finally know what I’ve been suffereing from for so long! RCH can be vicious (and expensive.) Best of luck in your marathon training. I may or may not have licked the screen seeing those cupcakes.

  4. Alexis says:

    I am training for my next 5K, then 10K. I work & go to school full time so longer distance races are out right now. I marathoner in Feb 2011 – Rock n Roll Mardi Gras in New Orleans where I met you!!!! :). I will do it again when I can train up for it. I do a half marathon a year along with the shorter fun runs/races.

    Cupcakes? The icing!!!!

  5. Jill Alport says:

    Coming off injury so just getting back into running! Never run a Marathon but have done 18 mile races. Maybe someday. Will start to train for a few mud runs, 5&10’k runs and go from there. Love the clothes and all the gear!

  6. Pingback: In 72 hours from now… | a runner girl's go at her dream life

Leave a Reply

