In 72 hours from now…

8 of us from San Francisco, Boston and New York will toe the starting line to race the Napa Valley Marathon. This race is particularly special to me as it’s the first goal race for Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL, which means that I will be tackling 26.2 miles in the company of san fran girlfrans, my longtime friend & high school teammate Sally (sal my pal) and my sister Laura– who is flying in to race the marathon before she moves to Africa the next day to start a new medical clinic that will better the quality of human life as we know it. And you thought you were tired.

On Sunday I can truly say that simply getting to the starting line will feel like an accomplishment. You see, ten days ago during a girls weekend with Jen & Sally in St. Joe, Michigan I took the hardest fall of my life. I was over-achieving as per usual, adding on a couple of extra miles by myself at the end of our long run when I crossed a steel/grated bridge. My foot caught the grate and I tripped and busted my knees, twisted my ankle, shattered my phone and cried for my mom. I hobbled home to Jen’s house and after she assessed the severity of my injuries she took me straight to the emergency room pizzeria for a large pie and pitcher of sangria. What would I do without her.

I was down and out for a whole week. Today I am moving about as smooth as the Tin Man, but I am back to running and just looking forward to racing this weekend with all that I’ve got.

I will admit to you that I have been trying out a few things to speed up my recovery…

1) I went to the Wishing Tree #onlyinsanfrancisco. Some make wishes… I put in for miracles.

photo33

2) I picked up a brand new pair of bright running shoes. How can you have a bad run in hot pink shoes? It’s impossible. And it’s pretty much against the law.

photo34

3) I sat on the couch and ate more of these amazing new pretzel buns than I care to confess. A carb-cure-all is what i’m hoping for here.

photo87

So, I think I will be ALL SET to race on Sunday. Good luck to my teammates and to everyone racing  the Napa Valley Marathon! And to everyone racing other races this weekend, especially my coach Tony who will be making his debut over the 10 mile distance in Redding, CA.

How about you…

are you dealing with any injuries?

are you in rest mode too? either just raced or taper mode? 

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In 72 hours from now…

  1. olivetorun says:

    Sounds like so much fun! Good luck 🙂

  2. Ouch, sorry about that fall! It sounds very painful! Glad you had friends on hand to help “medicate”. 🙂

  3. I live in the Bay Area, I have to know where that tree is, I’ve never heard of it.

  4. I just raced and am slowly getting into the groove to prepare for the next one on the (near) horizon. Are you from MI? I am!! St. Joe is the hometown of a coach I once played basketball for when I was in High School. 🙂
    That pretzel loaf looks amazing.
    Have a great, fun, healthy race!
    (www.nowirun.com)

Leave a Reply

