2013 Napa Valley Marathon Race Recap

We did it. A 26.2 mile feat is in the books and forever a memory for Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL. Race weekends really are my favorite type of weekend and this one was no exception. I mean you can’t really have a bad time when the word LOADING describes what you should be doing with carbohydrates. So while my race wasn’t as fast as I what I had hoped for (finished in a 3:35), the experience of seeing my girls & Peter at the finish line made me want to raise a glass or five in celebration.

Here are a few things I’m most grateful for during the 2013 Napa Valley Marathon race weekend:

SuperFANS: To me, a race is a reward for all of the hard training so it was awesome to have such great support in the form of friends, boyfriends and fiances there for our racin’ celebration’.

Image

Image

Image

Image

“Lucky” rainbow cupcakes: I made these for the team but after they suffered serious cosmetic injuries in transit to Napa, Sally and I decided that it was “best to not let anyone else see them like this.” Not one for wasting food, we settled the situation like any good Americans would; we consumed them.

Image

My handheld water bottle: I’m all about the All You Can Drink Water Buffets (my term for the water-aid stations to keep me ‘excited’ and motivated to get to next one) but for this race I decided to carry my own water bottle, and I’m glad that I did. It was kind of warm, I was really thirsty and there really weren’t that many water stations. It also has a pouch that kept my GU’s from getting disgustingly warm as they do when I put them in my pocket.

The finish line: These days I’m so elated by the very sight of the finish line that any disappointment due to a slow race time doesn’t typically set in until at least 48 hours after the race. Not a bad deal right?

Image

Image

Gott’s Roadhouse: For mint chocolate chip ice cream sundaes with chocolate syrup, peanut butter and extra Oreos before we finally left to go home. BTW this was my last dairy treat before starting my ‘3 weeks of veganism before 30’ challenge. But more on that later…

Image

So here’s to a few easy weeks of running, just-for-fun runs and figuring out where Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL will be racing next.

When it comes to running, what are you most grateful for right now?

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2013 Napa Valley Marathon Race Recap

  1. olivetorun says:

    Nice work! That is such a great time, congrats 🙂

  2. You guys look awesome in your gear! I’m glad you didn’t waste those cupcakes… I would have been highly disappointed in a fellow dessert addict 😉

  3. stephnowirun says:

    AHH! Love this race recap! 🙂 Love your running jackets, too! 🙂
    You rocked it on the time, too! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

