It’s Official

78 more days until I begin my extended leave from the advertising agency world to pursue my purpose with IRUNLIKEAGIRL full-time. I’ve been anticipating this life move for such a long time that my only uncertainty is what I’ll do with myself in the moment it arrives. I imagine being stricken with a feeling of happiness so great that the hills come alive with the sound of music. Dancing freely in the sunshine might be all that I can manage to accomplish for awhile. And I’m ok with this as so long myself is ok with it too (she’s my new boss).

All the while knowing better, I have delayed making this leap.  I wanted the transition to be smooth. To land on my feet as dominque-dawes-like as possible (WWDD?). To be able to maintain my visitation rights to Whole Foods. To just not ever have to live in the confines of a strict budget. But there’s no more waiting for the clock to strike perfect. I’m thirty. No more holding back to hang out with fear and uncertainty. Unless there is a bear (should I ever encounter a bear then I will fear and I will hold back). In this life I remind myself that it’s progress, not perfection that I seek. So when I say this move has been a long time coming, it’s been so long that the agency I’ve been waiting to move on from has already moved on from me. This was confirmed for me this last week when I watched our agency-wide company meeting via video conference. The meeting was being held in New York and I was at home in San Francisco. Sure I was across the country but it felt more as if I was on a different planet watching what was happening down on earth. I’ve been told on more than a few occasions that I live in my own little world but on this afternoon, I finally claimed residence. I felt so disconnected. This was the marketing agency that I had helped build for the past 7 years. I think I was the employee #5 at the little-startup-that-could. I had worked my ass off there for so long. And for so long I truly felt that they could not possibly survive without me. And here they were before my very eyes doing exactly that…. and doing it well. And I was not even gone yet! Cue kelly clarkson song. Nothing like a healthy dose of perspective to remind you that just because you’re moving on doesn’t mean that the thing you’re moving on from isn’t moving on, too. Just not in the same direction. And that’s ok. After awhile if you’re not into it, it won’t be into you. And when it’s time, you’re late.

So, what is my dream for IRUNLIKEAGIRL exactly?

I want to travel around the country in an IRUNLIKEAGIRL truck (a super eco-friendly one, I swear) to different races, making connections between people that might have not otherwise ever been. Think about all of the like-minded runners that you see at races that you have never spoken to. What’s her story? What does he do? What is she listening to?  Like it or not, the things that we really want for ourselves in this life are often achieved when someone else helps push us forward a bit. I would not be here writing about this opportunity if my mom didn’t (quite literally) push me to go introduce myself to Jen (founder of IRUNLIKEAGIRL) after a 5K race in New York. We need to get out of our comfort zone to even have a shot at being at our best. We need each other to get there.

So, here’s to the next chapter! And here’s what we’re working on for IRUNLIKEAGIRL…

Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL ambassadors in MA, TX, CO, MI, WY and NY have been selected! I will be introducing these amazing ladiez in the coming weeks. Each ambassador has selected a Fall race in their state and will be recruiting runners to train together and race as a team.

A new line of IRUNLIKEAGIRL active wear will debut this Fall! So excited about this. Thousands more words to come on this one, promise.

And I will continue to save my spare change for an IRUNLIKEAGIRL fashion truck. But until then, look for IRUNLIKEAGIRL and our ambassadors at various races this Fall. Let’s race and hangout and eat cupcakes and be friends.

My dream mobile - an IRUNLIKEAGIRL fashion truck.

My dream mobile – an IRUNLIKEAGIRL fashion truck.

To the journey

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone…

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Official

  1. Congrats Kelly on your adventure!!! Happy count down to day 1!!! 🙂 You are an inspriation!

Leave a Reply

