Meet Alexis, our ambassador for TEXAS

A mom of 3 boys,  full-time accountant and a full-time student, Alexis first started running because she HATED it and wanted to see if she could MAKE herself do it. Over 900 miles and 17 races later, Rhianna describes it best: she’s found a love in hopeless place.

To move forward and get after the things in this life that we want for ourselves, it often takes a push from others and support along the way. Alexis, our new ambassador for Texas, and the rest of our team of IRUNLIKEAGIRL ambassadors around the country are helping us build connections and friendships between runners that might have not otherwise ever been. All ambassadors have selected Fall races in their state and we invite you to race with us. Who knows, you may just meet a whole team of new people that positively impact your life forever.

To all of our Texans and to all those that have been longing to visit the Armadillo state, you’re invited to race with Alexis & Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL. Alexis has selected two fall goal races: Clear Lake City Half Marathon in Houston (November 10) and the Run Girl Half Marathon also in Houston (December 6). If you’re interested in running one of these races or maybe you just want to quiz her nine-banded armadillo knowledge, Alexis is now accepting hellos: alexislockhart78 (at) gmail (dot) com. And because we all know that looking your finest equates to racing your fastest, IRUNLIKEAGIRL will have special active wear pricing for all of our teams.

Alexis says:  

I know how important running is as a part of taking care of myself so that I am empowered to be at my best for all of the different roles in my life.  I’m so excited for this because if I had to describe my dream job it would be to spread enthusiasm, cheer, lead, help people set and accomplish goals, feel empowered and change my little corner of the world. And now here I am with an opportunity to do just that!

My favorite meal of the day is: dinner – usually the only time my whole family can sit down to a meal together.

…and I usually eat: anything I can get from fridge to table in less than 30 minutes that is healthy enough for me, but kid friendly enough for 5, 14, and 17 year old boys.
I like my coffee: chocolate coffee with french vanilla fat free cream!
My favorite color is: yellow – because it always looks happy
My favorite day of the week is: Saturday – long runs in the AM and then a day with my boys!
If an extra hour was added to each day, I’d use it to: run 3 miles and spend the other 30 minutes playing with my boys
Alexis, her 3 boys and my mom last summer at South Padre Island-- "We were on a boat on our way out to go Para-sailing. My first time to do that. Checked it off the bucket list...I'm ALL about the bucket list."
Alexis, her 3 boys and my mom last summer at South Padre Island– “We were on a boat on our way out to go Para-sailing. My first time to do that. Checked it off the bucket list…I’m ALL about the bucket list.”
Alexis' finish at her first ever half marathon - Run Girl HM Dec. 2010. "I was crying my eyes out by the time I crossed the finish line.  I was in the middle of a very sad divorce, and running probably saved my life. The sense of accomplishment and empowerment was unbelievable."

Alexis’ finish at her first ever half marathon – Run Girl HM Dec. 2010. “I was crying my eyes out by the time I crossed the finish line.  I was in the middle of a very sad divorce, and running probably saved my life. The sense of accomplishment and empowerment was unbelievable.”

5K line Jennifer & Alexis

Alexis & Jennifer– “Myself and my BFF at the 5K line during my first Full Marathon – Mardi Gras Rock n Roll New Orleans Feb. 2011. I love destination races and she is a GREAT traveling/racing buddy!”

Me skydiving. I love it. I recommend everyone do it, at least once in their life.

Alexis skydiving– “I love it. I recommend everyone do it, at least once in their life.”
——————-
 To learn more about Team IRUNLIKEAGIRL: Texas please leave a comment below or email Alexis directly: alexislockhart78 (at) gmail (dot) com. And please check back as we introduce our CO, IL, MA, NY and MI Ambassadors in the coming weeks!

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet Alexis, our ambassador for TEXAS

  1. Thanks Kelly for the introduction and for allowing me the opportunity to be a part of the IRUNLIKEAGIRL team! I am really looking forward to spending time with the runner ladies I already know, getting to know some new friends/faces and do some running/goal achieving/bucket list crushing stuff this year! I can’t wait to hear from everyone! Please feel free to email me or comment here and I’ll be in touch with training runs, news about IRUNLIKEAGIRL and group events. Happy running!
    Alexis

    • J T S says:

      For those that dont know Alexis, she is extremely dedicated to improving not only herself, but others as well. I know I have started to lead a healthier life due to her MAKING ME. She truly is a rare individual.

  2. Pingback: Meet Katie, our Ambassador from Colorado | a runner girl's go at her dream life

  3. Pingback: Meet Nicole, our Ambassador from Michigan | a runner girl's go at her dream life

Leave a Reply

