Healed and ready to hit the streets of Berkeley

After re-injuring my foot during the Women’s Health RUN 10 FEED 10 race a few weeks ago I’m happy to report that my life is, in fact, not over. I was detained from running for a while longer and I have survived to blog about it. Whew. I won’t say that the race was worth the additional bench time, but my hobble across the finishline provided 10 meals to those going hungry in SF. So while city wide hunger was not cured on this day I was happy to help fight 10 potential cases of the hangries (and we all know how serious that can be).

Fortunately, my life outside of running (what’s that) has been beamy. It’s been over two months now since I have been working full-time @_IRUNLIKEAGIRL and as a fitness instructor at Burn. After years of blackening my soul by investing myself in a job that I did not love, I’ve never felt so alive, challenged, light and grateful. The Sunday demons have checked out. And now I’m healed and back to running which means I’m back to functioning in society; bonus.

On Sunday I’ll be racing the Berkeley half marathon with the november project crew. While I’m still re-introducing my lungs to what it feels like to run hard, I’m hoping that the net-downhill course and the blistering back wind that I’ve put in for will get through the finishline in under 1:35. No PR hopies for this one, I will just be grateful to not have to cart it in on the sag wagon. So with that, good luck this weekend to all racing in Berkeley and elsewhere. Let us know how it goes and share a pic or five with us via twitter or fb.

bazu-1756180

All dressed up in the Racer Girl Tank for the recent Women’s Health RUN10FEED10 race in SF

1383549_614049428637771_1575009879_n

Some of these pretty faces that ran the NWM will be racing the Berkeley half on Sunday.

About Kelly

A runner and lover of peanut butter and cupcakes living in San Francisco, CA. This blog captures my experiences in running, refueling and building the lifestyle business, IRUNLIKEAGIRL (Online Store: www.irunlikeagirl.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IRUNLIKEAGIRLACTIVEWEAR) Half Marathon PR: 1:31 (2009 Bay State Half Marathon) Marathon PR: 3:21 (2010 Nashville Country Music Marathon)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

